Residential towers, Grenoble

Share on: Facebook    Twitter

The challenges here were to combine affordable housing with the durability expected by a social housing landlord, and accommodate tough standards in order to provide the most comfortable possible living conditions.

  • FIND OUT MORE

    The objective of the programme is to build 75 social housing units and shops installed in two distinct buildings. The architectural language adopted for the two towers is the same, generating an architecture of reflection that contributes to the coherence of the neighborhood, where Christian de Portzamparc is pursuing his research into the “open block”. The envelopes of the structures are designed to allow light into the heart of the block and to enter into dialogue with the nearby buildings through continuities, and with the world beyond through protrusions. The volumes are angled to avoid confrontation and to offer open views, while their density minimizes energy loss. Residential performance is once again at the heart of the project.

     

    Arbitrary forms are rejected in favour of the optimization of simple techniques and durable services that will remain timeless in their neutrality.
    The apartments are double or even triple orientation. Their layouts are untrammeled by any structural restriction, despite the significant seismic constraints, while the technical ducts are laid along the partition walls. This means that the arrangement of the apartments is compact, optimizing distribution space and affording maximum flexibility.
    Simple materials are enhanced through the omnipresence of wooden doors and windows and of terraces.
    Special attention is paid to the communal areas: the roofs terraces are partially accessible, there is a picnic table, an open-air kitchen and a roof garden available to the residents.

     

    The design of the facades is governed by uses: running balconies off all the main rooms provide views of the mountains. They vary in depth depending on their exposure to the sun and the quality of the outdoor areas: deeper in the south or overlooking the garden, narrow to the north or overlooking the streets. The balconies have opalescent glass surrounds to protect privacy while admitting light, and are punctuated by the store rooms and partition walls between apartments. In this way, each apartment lends its own individual imprint to the facade: typologies, exposure to the sun, vertical positioning and the quality of the outside views combine to sculpt the volumes.

     

    Timber is used for the cladding, the door and window frames and the terrace decks, drawing on the expertise of a local industry with an excellent carbon footprint. The wooden facade is pre-grained to harmonize the impact of ageing and to blend with the dominant tones of the neighborhood and the distant mountains.


  • SPECIFICATIONS

    CLIENT
    Société d’Habitation des Alpes – Pluralis

    LOCATION
    Éco-quartier Cambridge, Grenoble (38)

    SURFACE AREA
    5 299 sqm

    PROJECT MANAGEMENT
    Architect: COSA
    Team: Géraud Pin-Barras, Adélie Quenot with Giorgia Aurigo, Antonin Bohl, Eve Coston, Zélie Denis, Marc Duatis, Sara Fernandez, Gautier Gerard, Riccardo Guderzo, Carmen Guerra Berrocal, Noémie Jahel, Christophe Maignien, Anaïs Maria, Théophile Marmorat, Oana Rupacici, Athur Schmitt
    Structural engineering: Bollinger + Grohmann ingenieure
    Fluids engineering: Nicolas Ingénieries
    Geotechnical engineer G2/G4: EGSOL
    Works scheduling, oversight and coordination: OPCI
    Economics: BMF

    ASSIGNMENTS
    Basic studies + full execution studies

    SCHEDULE
    Ongoing construction works
    Negotiated procedure 2012

    PROGRAMME
    Construction of two 75 social rental residential towers with shops

    BIM Level 2 project

    ENVIRONMENTAL APPROACH
    RT2012 certification label
    BBC-Effinergie Promotelec -30% (without photovoltaic) certification label
    QEB Région 2012 reference
    Air tightness <0.6 vol/h (Test under 50Pa)
    Dry geothermal probes
    Photovoltaic panels for self-sufficiency

DISCOVER

Tours de logements, Grenoble

Partager sur : Facebook    Twitter

Comment articuler l’économie du logement et la pérennité attendue par un bailleur social? Comment intégrer des normes étouffantes pour offrir le plus grand confort d’usage possible ?

  • EN SAVOIR PLUS

    Le programme prévoit la construction de 75 logements sociaux et commerces implantés sur deux îlots distincts. Les deux tours adoptent le même vocabulaire architectural : ils entrent en résonance et participent à la cohérence du quartier, dans lequel Christian de Portzamparc poursuit ses recherches sur l’îlot ouvert. L’épannelage des masses bâties ménage les apports solaires en cœur d’îlot et dialogue avec les constructions voisines par des continuités et avec le lointain par des émergences. Leurs volumétries biaises évitent les vis-à-vis et ouvrent des vues. La compacité des volumes optimise les déperditions d’énergie. La performance résidentielle est une fois de plus au cœur du projet.

     

    La forme arbitraire s’efface au profit de l’optimisation de techniques simples et de prestations pérennes dont la neutralité garantit l’intemporalité.
    Les appartements sont à double voir triple orientation. Les plans sont libérés de toute sujétion de structure, malgré des contraintes sismiques importantes, tandis que les gaines techniques sont placées le long des murs séparatifs. Les logements bénéficient ainsi d’un agencement compact optimisant les circulations et leur offrant le maximum de flexibilité.
    Les matériaux simples sont anoblis par l’omniprésence du bois des menuiseries et des terrasses.
    Les parties communes sont enrichies : les toitures terrasses sont en partie accessibles, une table de pique-nique, une cuisine en pleine air, un jardin suspendu y sont mis à disposition des habitants.

     

    Les usages écrivent l’architecture des façades : des balcons filants pour toutes les pièces de vie offrent des vues sur les montagnes. Leur profondeur marque l’orientation solaire et les qualités des espaces extérieurs : plus profond au Sud ou sur jardin, étroit au Nord ou sur rue. Les balcons sont dotés de garde-corps en verre opalescent pour protéger l’intimité, tout en laissant passer la lumière et sont ponctués par les celliers et murs séparatifs entre logements. Ainsi, chaque appartement imprime à la façade ses spécificités : typologie, orientation solaire, altitude et qualité des vues extérieures composent une combinatoire sculptant les volumes.
    Le bois est utilisé en bardage, en menuiserie et pour le platelage des terrasses afin de profiter d’une filière bénéficiant d’un excellent bilan carbone et d’un savoir-faire régional. Il est pré-grisé en extérieur pour homogénéiser son vieillissement et s’accorder avec les tons dominants du quartier et de la montagne lointaine.


  • FICHE TECHNIQUE

    MAÎTRISE D’OUVRAGE
    Société d’Habitation des Alpes – Pluralis

    SITUATION
    Éco-quartier Cambridge, Grenoble (38)

    SUPERFICIE
    5 299 m²

    ÉQUIPE DE MAÎTRISE D’ŒUVRE
    Architecte : COSA
    Équipe : Géraud Pin-Barras, Adélie Quenot, avec Giorgia Aurigo, Antonin Bohl, Eve Coston, Zélie Denis, Marc Duatis, Sara Fernandez, Gautier Gerard, Riccardo Guderzo, Carmen Guerra Berrocal, Noémie Jahel, Christophe Maignien, Anaïs Maria, Théophile Marmorat, Oana Rupacici, Athur Schmitt
    Structure : Bollinger + Grohmann ingenieure
    Fluides : Nicolas Ingénieries
    Géotechnicien G2/G4 : EGSOL
    OPC : OPCI
    Économie : BMF

    MISSIONS
    Base + études exe complète

    CALENDRIER
    Chantier en cours
    Marché négocié 2012

    PROGRAMME
    Construction, en zone sismique, de deux tours de 75 logements locatifs sociaux et commerces

    Projet BIM Niveau 2

    APPROCHE ENVIRONNEMENTALE
    Label RT2012
    Label BBC-Effinergie Promotelec -30% (Hors photovoltaique)
    Référentiel QEB Région 2012
    Etanchéité à l’air <0.6 vol/h (Test sous 50Pa)
    Sondes géothermiques sèches
    Panneaux photovoltaïques pour autoconsommation

Tours de logements, Grenoble