156 housing units, Saint-Ouen

Share on: Facebook  Twitter

The project draws upon the imagination of the territory: its industrial past, the Seine, the nearby castle of Saint-Ouen. Like the first US ‘tall office buildings’, with their steel structure and stone façades, it mixes classicism and modernism, tradition and modernity.

  • FIND OUT MORE

    To achieve legibility in the volumes and formal coherence with the neighbourhood scale, the project adopts a principle of composition divided between base, Piano Nobile and attic. The base demarcates public from private space. It houses a metro maintenance centre in which the high ceilings demanded by its functions generate interstices that are now filled with hallways, communal areas and two residential levels. On this artificial crest, the Piano Nobile is divided into two structures, extended by communal roof terraces punctuated with children’s play areas, a solarium and shared vegetable gardens. The attic, with its fragmented layout, intensifies the visual porosities and the relation to the landscape, completing a rectilinear facade design.

     

    Revisiting Art Deco compositions and picking up the rhythm of the structure, the pattern of windows/pier glass is unbroken by protrusions of any kind. Only the nature of the openings varies, between open loggias, single windows subtly shielded by their railings, or full-length French windows framing the vista over the city or the garden.
    The centre of the block is uncluttered, visible from the triple-height hallways. Extensively landscaped, it offers a diversity of pathways interspersed with areas for social exchange and encounter.
    The project develops to form not the expected U shape, but a single ring. The introduction of housing units to the south avoids the brutality of over-high construction at the prow of the complex and maximises the light reaching the core of the block, while breaking the dichotomy between front and rear facades and eschewing blind gable walls.

     

    The building thus acquires the identity of a structured urban block, in keeping with the other buildings in Saint-Ouen, housing mixed programs, moments of community life that enliven the communal distribution spaces and generous landscaped areas.


  • SPECIFICATIONS

    CLIENT
    Logis Transports

    LOCATION
    ZAC des Docks, Saint-Ouen (93)

    BUDGET
    € 15,74 M ex-Tax

    SURFACE AREA
    11 060 sqm SDP
    2 661 sqm outdoor

    PROJECT MANAGEMENT
    Architects: COSA, Pourquoipas ! architectes
    Team: Noémie Marechal, Géraud Pin-Barras with Florian de Clercq, Ovidiu Gabor, Pauline Lefort
    Landscape architect: Bertand Paulet
    Structural engineering: Batiserf
    Fluids and thermal engineering, environmental approach: Nicolas Ingénieries
    Acoustics: Jean-Paul Lamoureux
    Economics: BMF

    ASSIGNMENTS
    Basic studies

    SCHEDULE
    Competition 2015

    PROGRAMME
    Construction of 156 housing units and outdoor areas, above the metro line 14 maintenance center
    BIM Level 2 project

    ENVIRONMENTAL APPROACH
    Patrimoine Habitat & Environnement Cerqual certification label
    Effinergie + certification label
    Rainwater recovery
    Photovoltaic panels

DISCOVER

156 logements, Saint-Ouen

Partager sur : Facebook  Twitter

Le projet convoque l’imaginaire du territoire : son passé industriel, la Seine, le Château de Saint-Ouen tout proche. Il cherche, comme les premiers immeubles de grande hauteur américains, aux structures d’acier, habillés de pierre, à conjuguer classicisme et modernisme, tradition et modernité.

  • EN SAVOIR PLUS

    Pour garantir lisibilité des volumes et cohérence formelle à l’échelle du quartier, le projet fixe un principe de composition partitionné entre socle, Piano Nobile et attique. Le socle délimite l’espace public de l’espace privé. Il accueille un centre de maintenance du métro dont les altimétries, dictées par leurs fonctionnalités, dégagent des interstices désormais habités par les halls, espaces communs et deux niveaux de logements. Sur cet éperon artificiel, le Piano Nobile est divisé en deux corps de bâtiments, prolongés par des toits terrasses collectifs, accueillant jeux pour les petits, solarium et potagers partagés. L’attique, fractionné, intensifie les porosités visuelles et le rapport au paysage, concluant un dessin de façade réglé au cordeau.

    Revisitant les compositions Art Déco et suivant la cadence de la trame, le système ouvertures/trumeaux n’est perturbé par aucun débord. Seule varie la nature des percements, entre loggias ouvertes, fenêtres simples finement opacifiées par leur garde-corps ou portes fenêtres doubles toute hauteur, profitant du spectacle de la ville ou des jardins.

     

    Le cœur d’îlot est dégagé, perceptible à travers les halls à triple hauteur. Largement paysagé, il permet la diversification des parcours tout en offrant des espaces conviviaux, propices à la rencontre.
    Le projet se développe, non comme le U attendu, mais comme un véritable anneau unitaire. L’insertion de logements au Sud permet de limiter la brutalité d’une construction trop haute en proue et de favoriser l’apport de lumière en cœur d’îlot, tout en cassant la dichotomie façade avant / façade arrière et évitant les murs pignons aveugles.

     

    Le bâtiment prend ainsi l’identité d’un véritable îlot urbain structuré, à l’échelle d’autres constructions de Saint-Ouen, accueillant des mixités programmatiques, des moments de vie partagés animant les circulations communes et de généreux espaces paysagés.


  • FICHE TECHNIQUE

    MAÎTRISE D’OUVRAGE
    Logis Transports

    SITUATION
    ZAC des Docks, Saint-Ouen (93)

    MONTANT DES TRAVAUX
    15,74 M€ HT

    SUPERFICIES
    10 459 m² SDP
    2 661 m² espaces extérieurs

    ÉQUIPE DE MAÎTRISE D’ŒUVRE
    Architectes : COSA, Pourquoipas ! architectes
    Équipe COSA : Noémie Marechal, Géraud Pin-Barras avec Florian de Clercq, Ovidiu Gabor, Pauline Lefort
    Paysagiste : Bertand Paulet
    Structure : Batiserf
    Fluides, approche environnementale : Nicolas Ingénieries
    Acoustique : Jean-Paul Lamoureux
    Économie : BMF

    MISSION
    Base

    CALENDRIER
    Concours 2015

    PROGRAMME
    Construction de 156 logements et espaces extérieurs, en superposition du Site de Maintenance et de Remisage (SMR) de la ligne 14 du métro

    Projet BIM Niveau 2

    APPROCHE ENVIRONNEMENTAL
    Certification Cerqual Patrimoine Habitat & Environnement
    Label Effinergie+
    Récupération des eaux de pluie
    Panneaux photovoltaïques

À VOIR AUSSI