Ernest Hareux schools group, Grenoble

Partager sur : Facebook  Twitter

Apart from being a pedagogical tool, the school embodies the ‘third instructor’: one that contributes to the education of children alongside the teacher and the group. It forms a living space which, like a miniature city, must accommodate courtyards and squares, internal streets punctuated with surprises and meeting places.
The Ernest Hareux primary school is destined to play an even more important role: marking the centre of an emerging neighbourhood. How do you turn an educational amenity for small children into the heart of a neighbourhood under construction at the entrance to the city of Grenoble? How can a primary school generate meaning in the city?

  • FIND OUT MORE

    The school plot is a very steep piece of land located below a major road leading into the city of Grenoble.
    In the nursery school, the youngest children experience a world scaled to their needs. It is a single storey space around a courtyard sheltered from the cold prevailing northerly winds that blow down the Isère Valley. By filling in the slope created by the embankment, the nursery school becomes the plinth of the facility. Its roof divides into a courtyard for the primary school, but also into a square that is home to intergenerational activities, marking the heart of the neighbourhood.
    The primary school forms a totem that signals the western entry to the school. Library, access checks and administration occupy a single storey, level with the roof of the nursery/school courtyard. The classrooms are distributed around the second storey, while the service accommodation forms a third storey that rounds off the playful silhouette of the school.
    In order to limit the younger children’s movements, the canteen and main hall are on the lower ground floor. The spaces are versatile in their functions: a patio with a ramp takes the elementary children to the canteen, while the double-height hall provides direct access to their school; an outdoor ramp takes them to their classrooms from the lower ground floor, while an autonomous hall, connected to the main hall to facilitate monitoring, is located under the overhang created by the elementary classrooms on the boulevard.

    To draw on local skills, the building is made of timber. The frame moulds the facades and interiors. Its design seeks to strike the balance between economy of materials, comfortable temperature and light levels, and the tactile quality of the fittings. The variations are subtle: plain glass inside for the facades with sun exposure in order to take advantage of the masking effect of the frame, combined with external blinds in the South. The frame is topped with timber panels when it protects activity rooms. Only the floors are made of prefabricated concrete to reduce noise and maintain stable temperatures.

    The world of children dominates, imbuing the building with life: drawings on the walls, games in the courtyards, laughter and nursery rhymes.


  • SPECIFICATIONS

    CLIENT
    Ville de Grenoble

    LOCATION
    ZAC Presqu’Île, Grenoble (38)

    BUDGET
    € 5,55 M ex-Tax

    SURFACE AREA
    3 168 sqm SDP
    3 258 sqm outdoor

    PROJECT MANAGEMENT

    Architect: COSA
    COSA team: Géraud Pin-Barras, Floriane Bataillard, Antonin Bohl, Pierre Louvet, Christophe Maignien, Audrey Musto, Oana Rupacici
    Landscape architect: Bertrand Paulet
    Structural engineering: Batiserf
    Fluids engineering: CTH ingénierie
    Acoustics: Jean-Paul Lamoureux
    Economics: BMF

    ASSIGNMENT
    Basic studies + partial execution studies + signage + furniture+ BIM management

    SCHEDULE
    Competition 2014, winning project, no follow-up

    PROGRAM
    Construction of a timber structured school with 5 nursery classes, 9 elementary classes, a leisure centre and canteen
    BIM Level 2 project

    ENVIRONMENTAL APPROACH
    HEQ initiative – all target cleared
    Rain-water recovering
    Dry construction work, with locally processed wood frame

À VOIR AUSSI

Groupe scolaire Ernest Hareux, Grenoble

Partager sur : Facebook  Twitter

L’école, au-delà d’être un outil pédagogique, incarne le ‘troisième enseignant’ : celui qui participe à l’éducation des enfants en sus de l’instituteur et du groupe. Elle forme un lieu de vie qui, à l’image d’une ville miniature, doit ménager cours et places, rues intérieures ponctuées de surprise et lieux de rencontres.

Le groupe scolaire Ernest Hareux est amené à jouer un rôle encore plus important : marquer le centre d’un quartier émergeant. Comment faire d’un équipement scolaire pour la petite enfance le cœur d’un quartier en construction à l’entrée de la ville de Grenoble ? Comment un équipement scolaire pour la petite enfance peut’il faire sens dans la ville ?

  • EN SAVOIR PLUS

    Le terrain d’implantation du groupe scolaire est situé en contrebas d’une voie majeure d’entrée de la ville de Grenoble, sur un terrain au fort dénivelé.
    Les plus petits trouvent un univers à leur échelle dans l’école maternelle. Elle est implantée sur un seul niveau, autour d’une cour à l’abri des vents dominants soufflant dans la vallée de l’Isère, froids car venant du Nord. En comblant le dénivelé crée par le talus, la maternelle devient le socle de l’équipement. Son toit se dédouble en cour de l’école élémentaire, mais aussi en square abritant des activités intergénérationnelles : c’est une place qui marque le cœur du quartier.
    L’école primaire forme un totem marquant l’entrée Ouest de l’équipement. Bibliothèque, accès contrôlé et administration se développent sur le niveau de plein pied avec le toit de la maternelle / cour d’école. Les salles de classe se répartissent au second niveau, tandis que le logement de fonction complète sur un troisième niveau la drôle de silhouette du groupe scolaire.
    Afin de limiter les déplacements des plus petits, la cantine et le hall principal se développent à rez-de-chaussée bas. Un patio accueillant une rampe permet aux élémentaires d’accéder à la cantine. Un hall en double hauteur autonome leur offre un accès direct à l’école. Connecté au hall principal pour faciliter la surveillance, il s’installe sous le porte à faux crée par les salles de classes élémentaires sur le boulevard. Pour compléter la polyvalence des fonctionnements, une rampe extérieure leur donne accès à leur cours depuis le rez-de-chaussée bas.

     

    Cherchant à mettre à profit les savoirs faire locaux, la construction est en bois. La charpente modèle les façades et les intérieurs. Son dessin cherche les relations minimales entre économie de matière, confort thermique et lumineux et douceur de la matière sous la main. Les variations sont subtiles : vitrage au nu intérieur pour les façades exposées au soleil afin de profiter de l’effet de masque de la charpente et doublé de stores extérieurs au Sud. La charpente est capitonnée de panneaux de bois lorsqu’elle protège des locaux servants. Seuls les planchers sont en béton préfabriqué pour offrir confort acoustique et inertie thermique.
    L’univers des enfants prend le dessus, imprégnant la construction de vie : dessins sur les murs, jeux dans les cours, rires et comptines.


  • FICHE TECHNIQUE

    MAÎTRISE D’OUVRAGE
    Ville de Grenoble

    SITUATION
    ZAC Presqu’Île, Grenoble (38)

    MONTANT DES TRAVAUX
    5,55 M€ HT

    SUPERFICIES
    3 168 m² SDP
    3 258 m² espaces extérieurs

    ÉQUIPE DE MAÎTRISE D’ŒUVRE


    Architecte : COSA
    Équipe COSA :Géraud Pin-Barras, Antonin Bohl, Floriane Bataillard,  Oana Rupacici, Pierre Louvet Paysagiste : Bertrand Paulet
    Structure : Batiserf
    Fluides : CTH ingénierie
    Acoustique : Jean-Paul Lamoureux
    Économie : BMF

    MISSIONS
    Base + études exe partielle + signalétique + mobilier + BIM Management

    CALENDRIER
    Projet lauréat du concours 2014, sans suites

    PROGRAMME
    Construction d’un groupe scolaire en structure bois comprenant 5 classes maternelles, 9 classes élémentaires, un centre de loisirs et restauration
    Projet BIM Niveau 2

    APPROCHE ENVIRONNEMENTALE
    Démarche HQE – toutes cibles traitées
    Récupération des eaux de pluie
    Chantier sec, en structure bois issus d’une filière locale

À VOIR AUSSI